Freddy Grimes – “Wikcid” Album Review

Freddy Grimes, Wikcid

For those who aren’t familiar, Freddy Grimes is an independent and underground horror hip-hop artist who has been making music since 2011. Although he has not released anything since his debut album, Dirt, Greaze & Grimes, that has finally changed! Recently released, Freddy’s second album Wikcid is finally available for all his very patient fans! In celebration, I will be reviewing the album, track by track.

  1. “Intro” featuring Earl Wallace

The basis of this intro is to explain Freddy’s underground influence, done through an eerie voiceover. As a big horror fan, I really love this and think it’s a great way to start out.

2. “I’m Back”

This tracks starts out with a beat that loosely reminds me of the notorious Halloween franchise mix, which again, earns extra points with me. As for the evil laugh, I also reminisce on something Goosebumps related. The whole introduction to the song is full of awesome horror-inspired references, evidence that Freddy knows all the right buttons to push! More than that, though, I really like this track because it’s catchy and I consider it to be one of those ‘shake the rearview mirror while you drive’ songs.

3. “Nuthin’ To Lose”

Just from the beginning, I could tell this track was going to be good. Adding to my love of the title, the lyrics bring up those feelings of inadequacy that all the haters leave you with. Freddy proves that listening to the hate will never do you any good, so you just have to keep doing you and not be afraid. After all, what do you have to lose by trying your hardest?

4. “Real Talk”

This track’s introduction made me laugh, I won’t lie. However, this one reminds us that not everyone is willing to put in the hard work needed to be successful. It’s an anthem for the fighters, the over-achievers, the one’s that never give up or give in. For me, this is one of my favorite kinds of songs.

5. “No Place Like Home”

This is a track made to shout out Freddy’s hometown of KCMO, or Kansas City, Missouri. Appropriately enough, he shouts out Strange Music! Definitely a huge show of love for the Midwest.

6. “Flesh”

This one sounds like it belongs to a horror soundtrack for something within the likes of Friday the 13th or Scream in the beginning, but don’t be fooled! It’s actually meant to be somewhat like a PSA, mainly telling people that being real is more important than being plastic will ever be. At the end of the day, your body is your shell and making it fake won’t mean anything when you die. I actually really like this song, so I’d say it’s another favorite off this album.

7. “Bow Down”

Freddy no doubt loves the underground and has appreciation for his talent. This track shows that, as well as how he’s tired of watching others doing nothing to change their circumstances. He seems to believe that following his example is for the best, which I have to agree is accurate. Another basis for this song is the fact that Freddy has no love for the mainstream, which we all love to hear as members of the underground music scene.

8. “Necromancer”

I had a feeling I was going to really dig this track, and I was right! I have to admit that I think of this song as another great juggalo anthem, shining light on the feeling of being along and unaccepted. The overall message is that in the underground, you’re never alone. There are even what seems to be a few references to Insane Clown Posse songs, which is always fresh.

9. “Anixety”

This one is for those of us who have a difficult time making it day to day, the one’s who wish their bosses would get a grip and stop acting like they’re God. As someone who knows how this feels and has seen the results of living this way, I like this song and can easily understand why others would, as well.

10. “United Snakes Of America” featuring Claas

This is a great ‘fuck the system’ track, filled with accurate depictions of how our government treats us as citizens. A reference to the juggalo fight against the FBI for their discrimination fits in perfectly, which I believe really adds to the fresh underground vibe within the whole album. Altogether, this song is definitely another favorite.

11. “Preach Can’t Reach Me” featuring Trip C

Another song I had a feeling I would really like, and once again, I was far from disappointed. Even though this isn’t exactly one for those of us who are religious, I still like it and can agree with a few of the points made. In a way, it’s similar to “C.P.K’s” by Insane Clown Posse, and I like that a lot.

12. “SOS”

I really like this track because it’s very relatable. It gives attention to the fact that we all go through hard times, some worse than others. However, it also has a glimmer of hope towards the end, reminding listeners that giving up will never be the answer.

13. “Life”

This last track is similar to that of others with a message of living life to the fullest, however, the easy-going flow and beat helps make it one to remember. I really love the words to this, which without a doubt makes it my number one out of all the songs on this album.

All in all, I really enjoyed listening to this album and would give it a 4/5 stars. That being said, Freddy Grimes is back and with a sincere vengeance!

Wikced can be found on and purchased through iTunes.

Stay up to date on all things underground! Join the official True Juggalo Family newsletter!